The World and the Church

02-jesus.saves

The World and the Church

“I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.” ~ Jesus (John 17:14)

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how antagonistic our society is becoming toward all things Christian. This antagonism has been growing worse over recent years, and seems to be growing exponentially worse each day.

I was raised Catholic, stopped going to church when my father decided we were no longer going to church, when I was about 14, and I became a Christian in 1985, when I was twenty-five years old.

So — for better or worse — I’ve been a follower of Jesus for the past thirty years.

When I became a Christian in 1985 I joined a non-Catholic church. After much study, I returned to the Catholic Church in 1997, which was almost twenty years ago. Now, in 2016, I’m leaving the Catholic Church, although I have no idea where I will go. But I do know this: I’m going to a Bible-believing church. The Catholic Church no longer believes the Bible, and no longer believes her own ancient doctrinal teachings, which were based upon the Bible and Tradition.

1045px-Descent_of_the_Modernists,_E._J._Pace,_Christian_Cartoons,_1922

I remember going to Catholic catechist training classes during 1998-99, and I remember how disappointed I was that the books we were required to read were heretical, modernist trash. The teachers/professors were heretical modernists. Most of the students were heretical modernists. I remember thinking “If only the Holy Father knew what was going on! He would fix it!”. Now I know such thinking is nonsense. The “Holy Father” not only “knew” he was pushing the heretical agenda. I was the orthodox oddball. 

I’ve been spending a lot of time over the past few years, since the election of “Pope Francis”, reading, listening to podcasts, and watching videos trying to sort-out what’s going on within the Church, within the so-called “Traditionalist Movement”, and within the sedevacantist community.

Suffice it to say these groups are little more than Protestant-style splinter groups attempting to survive on their own apart from the Catholic Church.

As I’ve written before, I’ve considered myself sedevacantist since not long after the election of “Pope Francis”. Now, after much thought and study, I’ve decided to abandon the Catholic “Church” for the Bible and for a Bible-believing church.

I get enough trouble from the World… I don’t need the worldly Catholic “Church” dragging my soul down to Hell, too.

The society in which we live is growing increasingly hostile to Bible-believing Christianity, and I need an anchor for my soul. The Catholic “Church” is not that anchor, although it could and should be. The Bible is that anchor, for me.

The growing hostility toward all things moral and all things Christian forces me to choose sides: Am I with the World? Or am I with the Church? Well, I’m no longer with the Catholic “Church” but I am with Christ’s Church. The Church that believes the Bible. The Bible-believing Church that the World hates.

A few weeks ago I bought myself a new Bible to read. The Bible I had was a compact Revised Standard Version (RSV) Catholic Edition, with small print, and it wasn’t easy to read. It was great for traveling, and I have traveled with it, but it wasn’t good for enjoyable reading on a daily basis.

The Bible I recently bought is really nice. It’s a Crossway English Standard Version (ESV) with 9 point font and a calfskin cover and it’s a pleasure to read.

IMG_4590

Because I haven’t really sat down and read through the Bible cover-to-cover for many years, now that I’m doing it again, I feel like a thirsty man who has found water, or a hungry man who has found food.

There’s really no substitute for the Bible. Everyone should read it. Christians especially.

Most of my Bible “reading” in recent years has been online, and that’s been studying more than reading. I’ve been using BibleHub, which used to be called Biblos, for many years now, and I’ve chosen to use the ESV when doing so, because I like the translation. Now that I’ve started reading through the Bible with my new ESV I’ve found this translation a joy to read. Previously I’d read through the King James Version (KJV), the New American Standard Bible (NASB) and the New International Version (NIV) and I have to say the ESV is, so far, the best English translation of the Bible I’ve ever read.

I’ve been reading some of the Old Testament and some of the New Testament each day and I have to say it’s been refreshing to my soul.

I began shopping for a new Bible about a month ago because I realized I really needed one. I realized I needed to fortify my soul against the onslaughts of Satan and his (media) minions.

The daily deluge on my news feed telling me how evil and wicked Bible-believing Christians are, because they supposedly hate gays and transgenders, is really getting out of control. And it’s going to get worse.

parades_blog14-940x628

The LGBT issue is only one of many anti-Christ agendas within our society today, although it is one of the worst, and the one most pushed by the media. In fact, I consider the LGBT’s agenda being forced down our collective throats by media — and now government — to be a form of sociological rape. And I, for one, am not caving-in to it.

I’ve always been one of the most tolerant people you will ever meet when it comes to LGBT people, but I’m not going to say “wrong is right” and “right is wrong”.

The Bible is clear about homosexuality. It’s clear about adultery, too. And it’s clear about many other sins.

The worst thing we can ever do is attempt to justify our sins. God cannot forgive us when we don’t ask for forgiveness. It’s arrogant, haughty, and foolish to proclaim homosex as a virtue. Would we proclaim adultery as a virtue? I think not.

Anyways… I’m not knuckling-under to the anti-God, anti-Christ, anti-morals agenda. I’m doubling-down against it. 

“For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.” ~ Jesus (John 3:16)

White-Country-Church-by-Mark-Van-Scyoc-black-and-white-photography

About ajmacdonaldjr

writer, author, blogger
This entry was posted in Bible, Church, Culture, Media, Religion, Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

