Preparing for my next journey

DCIM100SPORT

Preparing for my next journey

Took my bike (fully loaded) for a test ride today before I head out next week for the C&O Canal + GAP Trail. I’ve got a CamelBak with about 20+ lbs (including 3 L of water) on my back too. The ride went very well. I didn’t use any lower gears than I usually do (without any gear).

I’ll be riding from my house to the canal in Williamsport, Maryland… to Washington, DC…. to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania…. back to Williamsport, and home again, which is about 730 miles.

Great Allegheny Passage Trail and Chesapeake & Ohio Canal National Historical Park Towpath, Pittsburgh, PA to Washington, DC

“Travel 335 uninterrupted miles from Pittsburgh to the nation’s capital along the GAP and C&O trails. You’ll roll over the roaring Youghiogheny River into Ohiopyle State Park, atop the Salisbury Viaduct, beside the active Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, through small, friendly towns and the Laurel Highlands. The ride is an accessible adventure for families (the total westbound climb of the GAP portion is just shy of 1,800 vertical feet, with a 1.4% average grade) and will motivate the next generation of cyclists to further the car-free movement.”

Info: http://atatrail.org (GAP) and http://bikewashington.org/canal (C&O)

I will be unplugged from the internet until I return😀

About ajmacdonaldjr

writer, author, blogger
This entry was posted in Bicycling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Preparing for my next journey

  1. Anonymous says:

    Enjoy and stay safe. 🙂

  2. As President of the C&O Canal Trust, the official non-profit partner of the C&O Canal National Historical Park, I want to wish you all the best on your big adventure! You may want to check out our website before you head out as it contains much information that you may find useful, especially our “Canal Discoveries” page. http://www.canaltrust.org. Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

