A ride along the beach…

DCIM100SPORT

Today was a beautiful morning for a horseback ride along the beach.

I had the most wonderful and peaceful time… enjoying the ride, the beach, the ocean, and the people I was riding with.

We had ideal weather, and a wonderful ride!

I took the free bus as far north on South Padre Island, Texas as it would go, then walked a mile to the old location of Horses on the Beach, which is where civilization ends and only beach begins.

It was five more miles to the end of the road, where the public beach ends and the national seashore begins, which is where their new location is.

I tried to hitch a ride for over an hour and couldn’t catch one, and was beginning to think I may not, and that I may miss my ride on the beach, which would have been a shame, because the weather was perfect and I was so close, yet still so far away.

A man in an SUV stopped to pick me up, asking me where I was going and where I was from. I told him about my pilgrimage to La Basilica de Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe, Javier Sicilia, and about what we are doing to end the violence in Mexico.

Then we got to talking about the US government, and how criminal it’s become.

He was older than I am, so he’s seen how much worse the government has gotten over time.

When we pulled into Horses on the Beach, which is at the end of the road, I asked him where he was going, and thanked him for going out of his way to take me where I was going.

He told me Horses on the Beach was where he was going, and said “Enjoy your ride. It’s a beautiful morning for one!” as he let his two dogs out of the SUV to run, and then went into one of the outbuildings.

I realized, then, he must be the owner, and considered myself very fortunate he’d picked me up and taken me right to where I wanted to go.

Thanks to him, I was right on time – even a little early – for my ride.

After I’d gone into the office, paid for my ride, and signed a release form, I headed out to the stables to wait.

DCIM100SPORT

After about 10 minutes, one the ladies working in the stable told me I needed to go back to the office and sign a release form, which, I told her, I thought I’d already signed.

When I got back to the office, the lady inside handed me some cash and told me the owner had told her to return my payment to me, saying: “He said to tell you your ride this morning is on him, and that he hopes you enjoy your ride.”

I was very surprised!

I thanked her, told her “I think you have a really great boss!” and she agreed.

Wasn’t that nice of him?!

The weather was perfect, with a clear blue sky, hardly any wind, and a temperature of around 60-65 degrees.

Perfect riding weather.

I had the most wonderful, beautiful, and peaceful experience this morning… riding along the beach.

The most peace I’ve had since I visited the basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe in Mexico City.

It was very beautiful, and very peaceful…

We rode along the beach, for a couple of hours, a group of seven of us, not counting the seven horses, and we all had a wonderful time.

Everyone remarked on what a perfect morning it was for a ride… the two guides, who do this every day, said: “You guys picked the perfect day for a ride!”

DCIM100SPORT

About ajmacdonaldjr

writer, author, blogger
This entry was posted in Charity, Government, Politics, Religion, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

